Trusted Shops Cetrificate
Search
0 Items0,00 €

Formula 3: entry thanks to Brother Goa

In 1981, Stefan is faced with the decision of driving a Procar-BMW M1 race, where a place had become free following the death of Hans-Georg Bürger. Bellof declines, as there is no way he wants to drive a car with a roof. He is then sent to Bertram Schäfer, who lets this exceptional talent drive in Formula 3 for the first time in June in Wunstorf - free of charge, as fortunately, Goa's motor is still available. This is where people really start talking about Stefan: he drives the unfamiliar track in excellent times and is then able to start from pole position. He skids once on the wet course but picks up again lap after lap and comes in second. Schäfer is delighted, the title contenders Frank Jelinski and Franz Konrad shocked. They have never come across anyone like Stefan before! There has never been a talent like this among the Germans!

“Stefan's first performance was like a thunderbolt. He handled the Ralt with such playful ease as if he had never done anything else“
Bertram Schäfer, F3-Team boss 1981

Schäfer gives the young talent another race in Erding. But then the same problem pops up as with the Formula Ford: sponsors must be brought on board; otherwise Stefan can not drive any more. After a long and unsuccessful search, the exceptional talent finally gets to the real estate buyer and Porsche racing owner Georg Loos and lands the latter as a sponsor, only four days before the next race.

“His strengths are his iron will, incredible nerves, his absolute attitude to racing“.
Rainer Braun

The contract is not half bad: Stefan commits to Loos until 1983 and must also race for the latter in the Renault 5 Turbo, a car with a roof. In the end, he drives in both the Formula Ford and Formula 3 at the same time, and both titles are within easy reach – even though Stefan only gets into the Formula 3 in the middle of the season! In the final at the Nürburgring, Stefan is even the points leader, but he still does not land the win. He is the victim of a ramming, after which he catches up again, but is then rammed again - by the same driver! The attacks throw him too far back. There is indignation everywhere, since the manoeuvre was well planned, allegedly even by Konrad himself, but nothing can be proved. As a result, Jelinski wins the title, Konrad comes second and Stefan third. Nevertheless Stefan is happy: he makes a name for himself and the competition starts to realise they are not dealing with just any normal driver.

“A scandal occurred in the last round of the German Formula 3 Championship at the Nürburgring. Favourite Stefan Bellof was already rammed in the first round by a specially hired "killer". That was the end“.
Original report Express Köln, 21.09.1981

Finally, at the end of the season, Bellof and sponsor Loos end up in a legal dispute. Loos can not come up with a binding schedule and Stefan wants to switch to Formula 2 and has already established contacts. In the end, the young racing driver has to pay a fee of 37.500DM to get out of the oppressive contract. A bit much, but his career has to be driven forward. The goal of Formula 1 is getting closer.

Gallery

Startaufstellung Hockenheim | © Familie BellofSiegerehrung Hockenheim 1981, 1. Platz, links Brutschin, rechts Konrad | © Familie Bellof

Results

DateRace trackResult
21.06.1981Wunstdorf2.
05.07.1981Erding4.
12.07.1981Salzburgring3.
19.07.1981Nürburgring3.
26.07.1981Diepholz1.
23.08.1981Zolder4.
06.09.1981Hockenheim1.
13.09.1981Siegerland Flugplatz1.
20.09.1981Nürburgring13.

© 2018 ck-Merchandising GmbH | All rights reserved | * Price indication incl. legal value plus shipping fees

Formel 3: Einstieg dank Bruder Goa

1981 wird Stefan vor die Entscheidung gestellt, Procar-BMW M1-Rennen zu fahren, wo durch den Tod von Hans-Georg Bürger ein Platz frei geworden ist. Bellof lehnt entschieden ab, denn ein Auto mit Dach will er partout nicht fahren. So schickt man ihn zu Bertram Schäfer, der das Ausnahmetalent im Juni in Wunstorf zum ersten Mal in der Formel 3 fahren lässt – kostenlos, weil glücklicherweise noch Goas Motor zur Verfügung steht. Hier macht Stefan sofort von sich reden: Er fährt die unbekannte Strecke mit Bestzeiten und darf anschließend von der Pole starten. Auf der regennassen Strecke gerät er einmal ins Schleudern, holt dann aber Runde für Runde immer weiter auf und wird Zweiter. Schäfer ist begeistert, die Titelanwärter Frank Jelinski und Franz Konrad erschrocken. So jemanden wie Stefan haben sie noch nicht erlebt! So ein Talent hat es unter den Deutschen noch nicht gegeben!

„Stefans erster Auftritt war wie ein Donnerschlag. Er bewegte den Ralt mit solch spielerischer Leichtigkeit, als ob er nie etwas anderes gemacht hätte.“
Bertram Schäfer, F3-Teamchef 1981

Schäfer schenkt dem Jungtalent eine weitere Fahrt in Erding. Dann ergibt sich jedoch dasselbe Problem wie bei der Formel Ford: Sponsoren müssen her, sonst kann Stefan nicht mehr fahren. Nach einer langen und erfolglosen Suche gerät das Ausnahmetalent schließlich an den Immobilienkaufmann und Porsche-Rennstallbesitzer Georg Loos und gewinnt diesen, nur vier Tage vor dem nächsten Rennen, als Sponsor.

„Seine Stärken sind eiserner Wille, unglaubliche Nerven, die absolute Einstellung zum Rennsport.“
Rainer Braun

Der Vertrag ist nicht ohne: Stefan bindet sich bis 1983 an Loos und muss darüber hinaus auch noch für diesen im Renault 5 Turbo fahren, einem Auto mit Dach. Letztlich fährt er gleichzeitig in der Formel Ford und in der Formel 3 und beide Titel rücken in greifbare Nähe – obwohl Stefan erst zur Saisonmitte in die Formel 3 eingestiegen ist! Im Finale im Nürnburgring ist Stefan sogar Tabellenführer, doch den Sieg fährt er trotzdem nicht ein. Er wird Opfer einer Rammattacke, nach der er zwar wieder aufholt, dann aber erneut gerammt wird – vom selben Fahrer! Die Attacken werfen ihn zu weit zurück. Überall herrscht Empörung, da das Manöver wohl geplant war, angeblich sogar von Konrad selbst, dem man aber nichts nachweisen kann. So gewinnt Jelinski den Titel, Konrad wird Zweiter und Stefan Dritter. Trotzdem ist Stefan glücklich: Er wird bekannter und die Konkurrenz beginnt zu realisieren, dass sie keinen normalen Fahrer vor sich hat.

„Beim letzten Lauf zur deutschen Formel-3-Meisterschaft auf dem Nürnburgring kam es zu einem Skandal. Favorit Stefan Bellof wurde schon in der 1. Runde vom einem speziell angeheuerten „Killer“ gerammt. Das war das Aus.“
Originalmeldung Express Köln, 21.09.1981

Am Ende der Saison kommt es schließlich zum Rechtsstreit zwischen Bellof und Sponsor Loos. Loos kann kein verbindliches Programm vorweisen und Stefan möchte in die Formel 2 wechseln, hat bereits Kontakte aufgebaut. Letztlich muss der junge Rennfahrer 37.500DM Ablöse zahlen, um dem Knebelvertrag zu entkommen. Harter Tobak, doch die Karriere muss vorangetrieben werden. Das Ziel der Formel 1 rückt näher.

Galerie

Startaufstellung Hockenheim | © Familie BellofSiegerehrung Hockenheim 1981, 1. Platz, links Brutschin, rechts Konrad | © Familie Bellof

Ergebnisse

DatumRennstreckeResultat
21.06.1981Wunstdorf2.
05.07.1981Erding4.
12.07.1981Salzburgring3.
19.07.1981Nürburgring3.
26.07.1981Diepholz1.
23.08.1981Zolder4.
06.09.1981Hockenheim1.
13.09.1981Siegerland Flugplatz1.
20.09.1981Nürburgring13.

© 2017 ck-Merchandising GmbH | Alle Rechte vorbehalten