Trusted Shops Cetrificate
Search
0 Items0,00 €

Formula 2: his name is known

As many times before, Stefan leaves a huge, lasting impression in his Formula 2 test drives, including in the South of France. Willy Maurer, who thought there were currently no reasonable German drivers in Formula 2, is alerted by journalists to the talent of Bellof. But here too, financial problems stand in the way of the young racing driver's career. He needs 700,000 DM, but currently he can only offer three BMW factory engines, which he received from Dieter Stappert. They go as a deposit to the new racing team and Maurer grants his name an interest-free loan until the end of the season. And this was the start of Stefan Bellof, now no longer unknown, and he wins in Silverstone as spectacularly as Jochen Rindt in 1964.

“Stefan reminded me a lot of Jochen Rindt. Neither of them cared about reputation or conventions, and both had incredible reflexes“.
Dieter Stappert, Journalist

In 1982 Stefan drives for the German Maurer-BMW-Team and wins the first two races - a novelty in Formula 2! Until May he even heads the table but then several accidents put an end to his winning streak. In Eau Rouge, for example, aquaplaning forces him to leave the track and he gets out of his car just before another car hits it. All in all, Stefan only reaches 4th place in this season, but once again, he has got people talking about him. Press and fans are thrilled by him. His rivals, on the other hand, condemn his style of driving as too risky and dangerous.

“His vehicle control was simply terrific. Others would struggle for days to hit top times and he would just pull them out of nowhere on the track“.
Willy Maurer, Team boss and later adviser and manager

In the following season 1983, Stefan drives a few sports car races simultaneously, which leads to some overlaps and him only participating in 7 of 10 Formula 2 races. In these, however, he once again shows what he is made of: At the Nürburgring, a damaged tyre initially destroys the lead for him. However, Bellof uses some insane manoeuvres to catch up again and even comes in fifth, just about managing to stay points leader. Various technical defects, the overlaps and a disqualification mean this season ends on a bad note for him. However on the personal front, things are finally heading in the right direction. Maurer waives the outstanding debt and becomes Stefan's long-term manager. For the first time, Bellof can now drive debt-free and even earn something in the process! In terms of cooperation, however, Maurer quickly becomes unpopular by making high demands. Stefan remains loyal at his side. In this way, he ends up collaborating with Porsche instead of with BMW.

“I was immediately struck by his sympathetic aura and the rogue look in his eyes. In this fascinating person, I have not only found a gifted racing driver for my team, but also a partner and friend over time“.
Willy Maurer

Gallery

Testfahrt Paul Riccard 1982 | © Familie BellofTestfahrt Paul Riccard 1982 | © Familie BellofTestfahrt Paul Ricard 1982, Stefan, Beppe Gabbiani, Willy Maurer | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHFormel 2 1982: Frank Jelinski, Günther Gebhard, Christian Danner, Harald Brutschin, Stefan Bellof | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHFormel 2 Startaufstellung 1983 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHHockenheim 1982 | © Familie BellofEifelrennen 1982 | © Stefan Bellof Official

Results

DateRace trackResult
21.03.1982Silverstone (GB)1.
04.04.1982Hockenheim (D)1.
12.04.1982Thruxton (GB)A
25.04.1982Nürburgring (D)5.
09.05.1982Mugello (I)7.
16.05.1982Vallelunga (I)A
31.05.1982Pau (F)9.
13.06.1982Spa (B)A
20.06.1982Hockenheim (D)3.
04.07.1982Donnington (GB)6.
18.07.1982Mantorp Park (GB)A
01.08.1982Enna (I)2.
07.08.1982Misano (I)5.
20.03.1983Silverstone (GB)4.
04.04.1983Thruxton (GB)A
10.04.1983Hockenheim (D)NG
24.04.1983Nürburgring (D)A
23.05.1983Pau (F)DQ
12.06.1983Jarama (E)2.
25.06.1983Donnington (GB)7.
24.07.1983Misano (I)NG
31.07.1983Enna (I)A
21.08.1983Zolder (B)7.

© 2018 ck-Merchandising GmbH | All rights reserved | * Price indication incl. legal value plus shipping fees

Trusted Shops Cetrificate
Suche
0 Artikel0,00 €

Formel 2: sein Name macht die Runde

Wie schon einige Male zuvor hinterlässt Stefan bei seinen Formel 2 Testfahrten, unter anderem in Südfrankreich, einen großen, bleibenden Eindruck. Willy Maurer, der glaubte, es gäbe derzeit keine vernünftigen deutschen Piloten in der Formel 2, wird von Journalisten auf das Talent von Bellof aufmerksam gemacht. Doch auch hier stehen finanzielle Probleme dem Werdegang des jungen Rennfahrers im Weg. 700.000DM braucht er, doch aktuell kann er lediglich drei BMW-Werksmotoren anbieten, die er von Dieter Stappert geschenkt bekommen hatte. Die gehen als Anzahlung an den neuen Rennstall und Maurer gewährt seinem Neuen ein zinsloses Darlehen bis Saisonende. Und so startet der damals längst nicht mehr unbekannte Stefan Bellof und siegt in Silverstone so spektakulär wie Jochen Rindt 1964.

„Stefan hat mich sehr an Jochen Rindt erinnert. Beide haben sich nicht um Ruf oder Konventionen geschert, und beide hatten unglaubliche Reflexe.“
Dieter Stappert, Journalist

1982 fährt Stefan dann beim deutschen Maurer-BMW-Team und gewinnt gleich die ersten beiden Rennen – ein Novum in der Formel 2! Bis zum Mai führt er sogar die Tabelle an, dann setzen mehrere Unfälle seiner Siegessträhne ein Ende. In Eau Rouge beispielsweise kommt er durch Aquaplaning von der Strecke ab und kann seinen Wagen gerade noch verlassen, bevor ein weiteres Rennauto hineinfährt. Insgesamt erreicht Stefan in dieser Saison nur den 4. Platz, hat aber erneut von sich reden gemacht. Presse und Fans sind begeistert von ihm. Seine Rivalen dagegen verdammen seinen Fahrstil als zu riskant und gefährlich.

„Seine Fahrzeugbeherrschung war einfach grandios. Top-Zeiten, für die sich andere tagelang abrackerten, zauberte er aus dem Stand heraus auf die Piste.“
Willy Maurer, Teamchef und späterer Berater und Manager

In der folgenden Saison 1983 fährt Stefan gleichzeitig Sportwagen-Rennen, wodurch es zu einigen Überschneidungen kommt und er nur an 7 von 10 Formel 2 Rennen teilnehmen kann. In diesen zeigt er jedoch wieder einmal, was in ihm steckt: Im Nürnburgring macht ihm zunächst ein Reifenschaden die Führung zunichte. Mit irrsinnigen Manövern holt Bellof jedoch wieder auf und wird sogar Fünfter, wodurch er die Tabellenführung gerade so halten kann. Diverse technische Defekte, die Überschneidungen und eine Disqualifikation lassen diese Saison schließlich eher schlecht für ihn ausgehen. Dafür geht es persönlich endlich aufwärts. Maurer erlässt ihm die Restschulden und wird dafür langfristig Stefans Manager. Zum ersten Mal kann Bellof nun schuldenfrei fahren und verdient dabei sogar etwas! In Bezug auf Zusammenarbeiten macht sich Maurer allerdings schnell unbeliebt, indem er hohe Forderungen stellt. Stefan bleibt loyal an seiner Seite. Auf diese Weise kommt es schließlich zu einer Zusammenarbeit mit Porsche anstatt mit BMW.

„Mir fiel sofort seine sympathische Ausstrahlung und der Schalk in seinen Augen auf. Mit diesem faszinierenden Menschen habe ich nicht nur einen begnadeten Rennfahrer für mein Team gefunden, sondern mit der Zeit auch einen Partner und Freund.“
Willy Maurer

Galerie

Testfahrt Paul Riccard 1982 | © Familie BellofTestfahrt Paul Riccard 1982 | © Familie BellofTestfahrt Paul Ricard 1982, Stefan, Beppe Gabbiani, Willy Maurer | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHFormel 2 1982: Frank Jelinski, Günther Gebhard, Christian Danner, Harald Brutschin, Stefan Bellof | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHFormel 2 Startaufstellung 1983 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHHockenheim 1982 | © Familie BellofEifelrennen 1982 | © Stefan Bellof Official

Ergebnisse

DatumRennstreckeResultat
21.03.1982Silverstone (GB)1.
04.04.1982Hockenheim (D)1.
12.04.1982Thruxton (GB)A
25.04.1982Nürburgring (D)5.
09.05.1982Mugello (I)7.
16.05.1982Vallelunga (I)A
31.05.1982Pau (F)9.
13.06.1982Spa (B)A
20.06.1982Hockenheim (D)3.
04.07.1982Donnington (GB)6.
18.07.1982Mantorp Park (GB)A
01.08.1982Enna (I)2.
07.08.1982Misano (I)5.
20.03.1983Silverstone (GB)4.
04.04.1983Thruxton (GB)A
10.04.1983Hockenheim (D)NG
24.04.1983Nürburgring (D)A
23.05.1983Pau (F)DQ
12.06.1983Jarama (E)2.
25.06.1983Donnington (GB)7.
24.07.1983Misano (I)NG
31.07.1983Enna (I)A
21.08.1983Zolder (B)7.

© 2017 ck-Merchandising GmbH | Alle Rechte vorbehalten | * Preisangaben inkl. gesetzliche MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten