Trusted Shops Cetrificate
Search
0 Items0,00 €

About Stefan Bellof: Death day

Actually, Stefan does not want to compete. On the way to the airport his car breaks down and Goa has to pick him up. Thierry Boutsen finally takes Stefan to Spa. On 1 September 1985, Stefan lines up to compete in Spa. It has only been a few weeks since the fatal accident involving racing driver Manfred Winkelhock. The race is going well, but after a pit stop, rival Ickx is back on the track faster than Stefan. He goes into the lead and prevents Stefan from overtaking over three laps. On the straights, Ickxs factory Porsche is also faster than Bellof’s. Finally, Ickx is shown the blue flag, which however he does not see or either ignores. In the Eau Rouge bend, in which Vettel also had an accident, Stefan gets ready for a risky overtaking manoeuvre. He knows his car was designed to take bends better than the other cars. However – there is a fatal accident when the two cars collide and Stefan drives into a concrete pillar. The doctors still fight for his life, but Stefan is probably dead on the spot.

”He already had a funny feeling beforehand“.
Angelika Langner

Look in the past

In 1981, people think German motor sport is finished. Georg Loos sells his last 935 Turbo to Australia. The fans stay at home, German racing is suffering from dizziness. And then he pops up. Stefan Bellof. As if he has come from nowhere and captures the hearts of the German fans. He is their hope, their star. The wunderkind from Giessen could have become Formula One world champion. Unfortunately, he died far too early - like many of his contemporaries.

Racing has always been a dangerous business and although it has become safer these days, there was still a lot to learn back 30 years ago. Almost every year, at least one racer lost their lives due to the lack of safety in the cars and on the tracks. In May 1982 for example, Canadian Gilles Villeneuve was killed in Zolder in test training and in June of the same year the Italian Riccardo Paletti. In 1983, when Stefan was becoming more famous, the German racing driver Rolf Stommelen, with whom he had driven in the sports car the previous year, was killed. In 1985, two German racers were killed within just three weeks. On 12 August, Manfred Winkelhock was killed at the sports car World Championship in Mosport, on 1 September then Stefan Bellof in Spa-Francorchamps. Team boss Walter Brun had not even had time to digest the accident involving Joel Gouhiers, when it happened and even wanted to quit. The series of fatal accidents continues. And even Ayrton Senna, also a rising star during Stefan’s time, is killed on 1 May 1994.

Gallery

Famieliengrab Bellof | © Ralf Herbert, WetzlarStefan Bellof Famieliengrab | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, Wettenberg

© 2018 ck-Merchandising GmbH | All rights reserved | * Price indication incl. legal value plus shipping fees

Trusted Shops Cetrificate
Suche
0 Artikel0,00 €

Der Mensch Stefan Bellof: Todestag

Eigentlich will Stefan gar nicht zum Rennen antreten. Auf dem Weg zum Flughafen hat er eine Autopanne und Goa muss ihn abholen. Thierry Boutsen nimmt Stefan schließlich nach Spa mit. Am 1. September 1985 tritt Stefan dann in Spa an. Es sind erst wenige Wochen seit dem tödlichen Unfall des Rennfahrers Manfred Winkelhock vergangen. Das Rennen verläuft gut, doch nach einem Boxenstopp ist Rivale Ickx schneller wieder auf der Strecke als Stefan. Er geht in Führung und verhindert über drei Runden, dass Stefan überholen kann. Auf den Geraden ist Ickxs Werksporsche zudem schneller als der von Bellof. Schließlich wird Ickx die blaue Flagge gezeigt, die er aber nicht sieht oder nicht beachtet. In der Kurve Eau Rouge, in der auch Vettel einen Unfall hatte, setzt Stefan zu einem riskanten Überholmanöver an. Er weiß, dass sein Wagen darauf abgestimmt wurde, Kurven besser zu nehmen als die anderen Wagen. Dennoch – es kommt zum tödlichen Unfall, als die beiden Wagen kollidieren und Stefan gegen einen Betonpfeiler fährt. Die Ärzte kämpfen noch um sein Leben, doch vermutlich ist Stefan sofort tot.

„Er hatte vorher schon ein komisches Gefühl.“
Angelika Langner

Im Spiegel der Zeit

Im Jahr 1981 glaubte man den deutschen Motorsport am Ende. Georg Loos verkauft seinen letzten 935 Turbo nach Australien. Die Fans bleiben zuhause, der deutsche Rennsport leidet an Schwindsucht. Und dann taucht er auf. Stefan Bellof. Wie aus dem Nichts kommt er und erobert im Sturm die Herzen der deutschen Fans. Er ist ihre Hoffnung, ihr Star. Das Wunderkind aus Gießen hätte Formel-1-Weltmeister werden können. Leider starb er viel zu früh – wie viele seiner Zeitgenossen.

Rennsport war schon immer eine gefährliche Angelegenheit. Heute ist er sicherer geworden, doch vor 30 Jahren gab es noch viel zu lernen. Nahezu jedes Jahr kam mindestens ein Rennfahrer durch die Unsicherheit der Wagen und der Strecken ums Leben. So trifft es im Mai 1982 den Kanadier Gilles Villeneuve in Zolder beim Probetraining und im Juni desselben Jahres den Italiener Riccardo Paletti. 1983, als Stefan gerade bekannter wird, verunglückt der deutsche Rennfahrer Rolf Stommelen, mit dem er im Jahr zuvor sogar selbst im Sportwagen gefahren ist. 1985 trifft es dann gleich zwei deutsche Rennfahrer innerhalb von nur drei Wochen: Am 12. August verunglückt Manfred Winkelhock bei der Sportwagen-WM in Mosport, am 1. September dann Stefan Bellof in Spa-Francorchamps. Teamchef Walter Brun hatte damals den Unfall von Joel Gouhiers noch gar nicht verdaut, als es passierte und wollte sogar aussteigen. Die Serie tödlicher Unfälle setzt sich fort. Und auch Ayrton Senna, zu Stefans Zeiten ebenfalls ein aufsteigender Stern, kommt am 1. Mai 1994 ums Leben.

Galerie

Famieliengrab Bellof | © Ralf Herbert, WetzlarStefan Bellof Famieliengrab | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergStefan Bellof Beerdigung | © Axel Pausch, Wettenberg

© 2017 ck-Merchandising GmbH | Alle Rechte vorbehalten | * Preisangaben inkl. gesetzliche MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten