Trusted Shops Cetrificate
Search
0 Items0,00 €

Formula 1: German hopefuls

In 1983, Stefan has every reason to be nervous, because his first, long-awaited test drive in Formula One for McLaren is pending. Next to him, Ayrton Senna and Martin Brundle, both also huge, rising talents are driving in the test drives at Silverstone. The result: Senna is a bit faster than Bellof, but McLaren are also happy with him. For the 1984 season, however, there is no more free space and the negotiations with Arrows break down because Manager Maurer raises the stakes a little too high. Moreover, if he had gone to Arrows, Stefan would have had to give up the sports car races, which he did not want to, and he would not have been allowed to wear some of his sponsors on his overall.

“I have always said that Formula 1 is my goal.“
Stefan Bellof

In March 1984, Stefan gets into Formula One nevertheless, namely with Tyrell. In contrast to the past, he no longer has to struggle to raise the sponsorship fees. Stefan is well-known enough, his talent world-renowned and everyone is just waiting for him to become world champion. At Tyrell, however, he will have a hard time, because he has to deal with the considerably more powerful turbo engines of the competition with his inferior aspirated engine. There are no major successes but Stefan nevertheless shows everyone what he is made of. Rainy and winding routes become his best friends because the competition has to slow down here. This is also true of the famous Monaco race.

“He is the greatest talent that I have ever met“.
Jackie Stewart

At the Grand Prix in Monaco, he starts far behind, but makes up good time lap for lap and stubbornly works his way up to third place; at some stages even faster than Senna in front of him. He probably would also have made second or even first place, if racing manager Ickx, probably his biggest rival, had not cancelled the race prematurely due to bad weather. In a few other races too, Stefan makes the competition sweat time and again with the inferior engine. But then Tyrell is completely disqualified because the weight of the car was tampered with.

”The performance he gave with the aspirated engine against the turbos was simply incredible“.
Ken Tyrell

In 1985 Stefan again drives for Tyrell, although Brabham has also expressed interest. Stefan believes, however, that this is not a serious offer. He gives Tyrell an ultimatum however that they need to move to turbo engines by the middle of the year, otherwise he is out. In fact, the team does purchase a turbo engine, but has two drivers who have to share it. Stefan therefore only gets little use of it.

”I don’t have the slightest doubt that he would soon have become world champion.“
Ken Tyrell

With the aspirated engine, it is becoming increasingly difficult for him, but there is a hint of hope: for the 1986 season, a contract is already signed with Ferrari. This is Stefan's great chance; Enzo Ferrari has personally chosen him as a driver and thus recognised his incredible talent.

“If Stefan had not been killed in an accident, my career might never have existed. Everything in motorsport would have been about Bellof because he would have become the Formula 1 world champion and PS superstar“.
Michael Schumacher, 2010

Gallery

Monaco 85, Tyrrell 012 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHFormel 1 | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergFormel 1 Testfahrt Nürburgring 1985 Tyrrell Renault Turbo | © Michael Schäfer, HüttenbergStefan Bellof und Ken Tyrrell, Testfahrt Paul Ricard 1985 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHStefan Bellof und Manfred Winkelhock | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHStefan vor Elio de Angelis | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHGP Belgien 84 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHGP Brasilien 84, Tyrrell 012 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHGP Monaco 1984 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHGP Monaco 1984 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHFormel 1 Testfahrten Brands Hatch England, 28-29.08.1985 | © Gareth Simmons, UKFormel 1 Testfahrten Brands Hatch England, 28-29.08.1985 | © Gareth Simmons, UKFormel 1 Testfahrten Brands Hatch England, 28-29.08.1985 | © Gareth Simmons, UKFormel 1 Testfahrten Brands Hatch England, 28-29.08.1985 | © Gareth Simmons, UKStefan Bellof und Ken Tyrrell | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbH

Results

DateRace trackResult
25.03.1984GP Brasilien - JacarepaguaA
07.04.1984GP Südafrika - KyalamiA
29.04.1984GP Belgien - Zolder6.
06.05.1984GP San Marino - Imola5.
20.05.1984GP Frankreich - DijonA
03.06.1984GP Monaco - Monte Carlo3.
17.06.1984GP Kanada - MontrealA
24.06.1984GP USA (Ost) - DetroitA
08.07.1984GP USA (Süd) - DallasA
22.07.1984GP England - Brands Hatch11.
05.08.1984GP Deutschland - HockenheimNG
19.08.1984GP Österreich - ZeltwegNG
26.08.1984GP Holland - Zandvoort9.
21.04.1985GP Portugal - Estoril6.
05.05.1985GP San Marino - ImolaA
19.05.1985GP Monaco - Monte CarloNQ
02.06.1985GP Belgien - SpaNG
16.06.1985GP Kanada - Montreal11.
23.06.1985GP USA - Detroit4.
07.07.1985GP Frankreich - Le Castellet13.
21.07.1985GP England - Silverstone11.
04.08.1985GP Deutschland - Nürburgring8.
18.08.1985GP Österreich - Österreichring7.
25.08.1985GP Holland - ZandvoortA

© 2018 ck-Merchandising GmbH | All rights reserved | * Price indication incl. legal value plus shipping fees

Trusted Shops Cetrificate
Suche
0 Artikel0,00 €

Formel 1: Deutscher Hoffnungsträger

1983 hat Stefan allen Grund dazu, nervös zu sein, denn ihm steht endlich seine erste, langersehnte Testfahrt in der Formel 1 bei McLaren bevor. Neben ihm fahren noch Ayrton Senna und Martin Brundle, beide ebenfalls große, aufsteigende Talente bei den Testfahrten in Silverstone mit. Das Ergebnis: Senna ist zwar etwas schneller als Bellof, aber auch von dem ist McLaren begeistert. Für die Saison 1984 ist jedoch kein Platz mehr frei und auch die Verhandlungen mit Arrows platzen, weil Manager Maurer ein wenig zu hoch pokert. Zudem hätte Stefan, wäre er zu Arrows gegangen, die Sportwagenrennen aufgeben müssen, was er nicht wollte, und einige seiner Sponsoren hätte er auch nicht auf seinem Overall tragen dürfen.

„Ich habe immer betont, dass die Formel 1 mein Ziel ist.“
Stefan Bellof

Im März 1984 steigt Stefan trotzdem in die Formel 1 ein, nämlich bei Tyrell. Anders als früher muss er sich endlich nicht mehr abmühen, die millionenhohen Sponsorengelder aufzutreiben. Stefan ist bekannt genug, sein Talent weltbekannt und alle warten nur darauf, dass er Weltmeister wird. Bei Tyrell wird er es allerdings schwer haben, denn er muss mit dem unterlegenen Saugmotor gegen die deutlich leistungsfähigeren Turbomotoren der Konkurrenz ankommen. Große Erfolge sind deshalb zwar nicht drin, aber Stefan zeigt trotzdem allen, was er draufhat. Verregnete und kurvenreiche Strecken werden zu seinen besten Freunden, weil hier die Konkurrenz langsam fährt. So auch beim berühmten Rennen von Monaco.

„Er ist das größte Talent, das mir je begegnet ist.“
Jackie Stewart

Beim Grand Prix in Monaco startet er weit hinten, macht dann aber Runde für Runde Zeit gut und arbeitet sich hartnäckig bis zum 3. Platz vor, ist dabei teilweise sogar schneller als der vor ihm liegende Senna. Vermutlich hätte er auch noch den zweiten oder gar den ersten Platz geschafft, hätte Rennleiter Ickx, sein wohl größter Rivale, das Rennen nicht wegen schlechten Wetters vorzeitig abgebrochen. Auch in einigen anderen Rennen bringt Stefan die Konkurrenz mit dem unterlegenen Motor das ein ums andere Mal ins Schwitzen. Dann jedoch wird Tyrell komplett disqualifiziert, weil das Gewicht des Wagens manipuliert wurde.

„Was er mit dem Saugmotor gegen die Turbos aufgeführt hat, war einfach unglaublich.“
Ken Tyrell

1985 fährt Stefan erneut für Tyrell, obwohl auch Brabham Interesse bekundet hat. Stefan glaubt jedoch, dass dieses Angebot nicht ernst gemeint sei. An Tyrell stellt er jedoch die Bedingung, dass bis zur Mitte des Jahres auf Turbomotoren umgestiegen werden muss, sonst ist er raus. Tatsächlich schafft das Team einen Turbomotor an, hat jedoch zwei Fahrer, die ihn sich teilen müssen, sodass Stefan nur wenig davon hat.

„Ich habe nicht den geringsten Zweifel, dass er bald Weltmeister geworden wäre.“
Ken Tyrell

Mit dem Saugmotor wird es immer schwieriger für ihn, aber es gibt einen Hoffnungsschimmer: Für die Saison 1986 ist bereits ein Vertrag mit Ferrari unterschrieben. Das ist Stefans große Chance, Enzo Ferrari hat ihn persönlich als Fahrer ausgewählt und damit sein unglaubliches Talent anerkannt.

„Wenn Stefan nicht verunglückt wäre, hätte es meine Karriere vielleicht nie gegeben. Weil sich dann im Motorsport alles um Bellof gedreht hätte, weil er der Formel-1-Weltmeister und PS-Superstar geworden wäre.“
Michael Schumacher, 2010

Galerie

Monaco 85, Tyrrell 012 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHFormel 1 | © Axel Pausch, WettenbergFormel 1 Testfahrt Nürburgring 1985 Tyrrell Renault Turbo | © Michael Schäfer, HüttenbergStefan Bellof und Ken Tyrrell, Testfahrt Paul Ricard 1985 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHStefan Bellof und Manfred Winkelhock | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHStefan vor Elio de Angelis | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHGP Belgien 84 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHGP Brasilien 84, Tyrrell 012 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHGP Monaco 1984 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHGP Monaco 1984 | © Ferdi Kräling Motorsport-Bild GmbHFormel 1 Testfahrten Brands Hatch England, 28-29.08.1985 | © Gareth Simmons, UKFormel 1 Testfahrten Brands Hatch England, 28-29.08.1985 | © Gareth Simmons, UKFormel 1 Testfahrten Brands Hatch England, 28-29.08.1985 | © Gareth Simmons, UKFormel 1 Testfahrten Brands Hatch England, 28-29.08.1985 | © Gareth Simmons, UK

Ergebnisse

DatumRennstreckeResultat
25.03.1984GP Brasilien - JacarepaguaA
07.04.1984GP Südafrika - KyalamiA
29.04.1984GP Belgien - Zolder6.
06.05.1984GP San Marino - Imola5.
20.05.1984GP Frankreich - DijonA
03.06.1984GP Monaco - Monte Carlo3.
17.06.1984GP Kanada - MontrealA
24.06.1984GP USA (Ost) - DetroitA
08.07.1984GP USA (Süd) - DallasA
22.07.1984GP England - Brands Hatch11.
05.08.1984GP Deutschland - HockenheimNG
19.08.1984GP Österreich - ZeltwegNG
26.08.1984GP Holland - Zandvoort9.
21.04.1985GP Portugal - Estoril6.
05.05.1985GP San Marino - ImolaA
19.05.1985GP Monaco - Monte CarloNQ
02.06.1985GP Belgien - SpaNG
16.06.1985GP Kanada - Montreal11.
23.06.1985GP USA - Detroit4.
07.07.1985GP Frankreich - Le Castellet13.
21.07.1985GP England - Silverstone11.
04.08.1985GP Deutschland - Nürburgring8.
18.08.1985GP Österreich - Österreichring7.
25.08.1985GP Holland - ZandvoortA

© 2017 ck-Merchandising GmbH | Alle Rechte vorbehalten | * Preisangaben inkl. gesetzliche MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten